FAS Homepage | Gov't Secrecy | Moynihan Commission || Index | Search | Join FAS

PDF Version

Appendix D

Biographical Information

Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Chairman. Senator Moynihan served in the cabinet or sub-cabinet of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford. He was Ambassador to India and Permanent Representative of the United States at the United Nations. From 1977 to 1985 he was a member of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, serving as Vice Chairman from 1981 to 1985. In 1986, he was awarded the Seal Medallion of the Central Intelligence Agency "In recognition of his outstanding accomplishments as . . . a leader in establishing the oversight of intelligence which was and is today in the finest spirit of bipartisan government."

Larry Combest, Vice Chairman. Congressman Combest of Lubbock, Texas served from 1988 through 1996 as a member of the U.S. House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. Serving as Chairman from 1994 to 1996, he was responsible for the study, "IC 21: The Intelligence Community in the 21st Century." In 1996, Mr. Combest was awarded the National Intelligence Distinguished Service Medal and the Seal Medallion of the Central Intelligence Agency. Mr. Combest holds an honorary Doctorate of Strategic Intelligence from the Joint Military College. He currently is Vice Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee and the House Small Business Committee. Mr. Combest was first elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1984. He also served as Legislative Assistant to the late U.S. Senator John Tower from 1971 to 1978.

John M. Deutch. Dr. Deutch is a member of the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.). He served as the Director of Central Intelligence from May 1995 to December 1996 and as the Deputy Secretary of Defense from March 1994 to May 1995. He became a member of the M.I.T. faculty in 1970 and served as Chairman of the Department of Chemistry, Dean of Science, Provost, and Institute Professor. His government assignments have included Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Technology and service in the Department of Energy as a Director of Energy Research, Acting Assistant of Energy Technology, and Under Secretary. He has been a member of the White House Science Council, Defense Science Board, President's Commission on Strategic Forces, the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board, and the President's Nuclear Safety Oversight Committee.

Martin C. Faga. Mr. Faga is a former Director of the National Reconnaissance Office and Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Space. Currently, he is a Senior Vice President and General Manager at the MITRE Corporation. His career includes service as a professional staff member for the Select Committee on Intelligence of the House of Representatives and later as head of its program and budget staff. He also served as an engineer at the Central Intelligence Agency for several years and as a research and development officer in the U.S. Air Force.

Alison B. Fortier. Mrs. Fortier is Director of Missile Defense Programs in the Washington Operations Office of the Space and Strategic Missiles Sector of Lockheed Martin Corporation. She is a former Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director, National Security Council Staff. She began her career in Washington as a staff member for the House Foreign Affairs Committee. She is a member of the Board of Advisors to the Superintendent of the Naval Postgraduate School and a member of the Board of the International Republican Institute.

Richard K. Fox, Jr. Ambassador Fox was a career foreign service officer in the Department of State, serving in a variety of positions in Washington and overseas. He was Ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago from 1977 to 1979, and Senior Deputy Inspector General of the Foreign Service. He is currently Senior Vice President of Meridian International Center, and serves on the board of several foreign affairs organizations.

Lee H. Hamilton. Congressman Hamilton was first elected to the House in 1965. He is the Ranking Democratic Member of the House International Relations Committee. He is the former chairman of the International Relations Committee, the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, the Joint Economic Committee, the House Iran-Contra Committee, and the October Surprise Task Force. Congressman Hamilton also co-chaired the Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress.

Jesse Helms. Senator Helms has served as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations since 1994. He also served as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry from 1985 to 1987. In addition to the Foreign Relations Committee, he currently serves on the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and the Committee on Rules and Administration. Senator Helms was first elected to the Senate in 1972, and previously was the Vice Chairman of the Board and Assistant Chief Executive Officer of Capital Broadcasting Company in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Ellen Hume. Ms. Hume is the Executive Director of PBS's Democracy Project. She previously served as a fellow at Northwestern University's Annenberg Washington Program and as Executive Director and Senior Fellow at Harvard University's Joan Shorenstein Barone Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy. She was a White House and political correspondent for The Wall Street Journal from 1983 to 1988 and a Washington-based national reporter for The Los Angeles Times from 1977 to 1983. Hume appears weekly as a media critic on CNN's "Reliable Sources."

Samuel P. Huntington. Professor Huntington is Albert J. Weatherhead III University Professor at Harvard University, where he is also the Director of the John M. Olin Institute for Strategic Studies and Chairman of the Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies. He served as Coordinator of Security Planning for the National Security Council from 1977 to 1978 and was co-founder and editor of Foreign Policy and president of the American Political Science Association. He is the author of many books and articles on national security, military policy, and international affairs.

John D. Podesta. Mr. Podesta recently returned to the Clinton Administration as a White House Deputy Chief of Staff, after teaching as a Visiting Professor at Georgetown University Law Center. He previously served in the White House as an Assistant to the President and Staff Secretary. Before joining the Administration, he was President and General Counsel of Podesta Associates, a government relations and public affairs firm. His Capitol Hill experience includes Chief Counsel of the Senate Agriculture Committee and Chief Minority Counsel of the Senate Subcommittee on Security and Terrorism.

Maurice Sonnenberg. Mr. Sonnenberg is a member of the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board. In 1995 and 1996 he also served as the Senior Advisor to the U.S. Commission on the Roles and Capabilities of the U.S. Intelligence Community. During past Administrations he served on other commissions and boards in the field of foreign policy, international trade, and foreign investment. Currently, he is a partner and Vice-Chairman of the Advisory Board of the investment banking firm of Voily, Byorum and Partners.

Go Back to the Top Page of the Commission Report

FAS Homepage | Gov't Secrecy | Moynihan Commission || Index | Search | Join FAS