November 3, 2003

The Honorable Chris Shays House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Shays,

We are writing on behalf of the undersigned organizations to thank you for the public access to the "Index of Congressional Research Service Reports" you provided until recently through your website and to express our dismay at the discontinuation of this valuable service to the public.

As the taxpayer-funded research arm of Congress, the Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides research materials that are among the best produced by the federal government. They explain, with fairness and clarity, the controversies and complexities surrounding the most pressing issues of our day. Citizens need access to this information to discharge their civic duties.

For the last several years, through the portal on your site, CRS provided online public access to hundreds of selected reports. While we understand that the pilot program has ended, we urge you to work with CRS to restore at least the same level of access to CRS reports that your web site has provided in the past.

Thank you, again, for your efforts to secure access to Congressional information, including the CRS reports. We hope to have an opportunity to work with you in the future.

For further information, please contact Patrice McDermott, American Library Association Washington Office, 202-628-8410.

Thank you.

## Sincerely,

American Association of Law Libraries Robert Oakley, Washington Affairs Representative Georgetown University Law Library 111 G Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001

American Library Association Patrice McDermott, Deputy Director, Office of Government Relations 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 403 Washington DC 20004

Arizona Toxics Information Michael Gregory, Director P.O Box 1896 Bisbee, AZ 86603 Association of Research Libraries Prue Adler, Associate Executive Director 21 Dupont Circle Washington, DC 20036

Awake In Philly Dave Jackson Box 201 Philadelphia, PA 19152-1114

California Association of Library Trustees and Commissioners(CALTAC) Mary Minow, Policy Analyst 21265 Stevens Creek Blvd., Suite 205-411 Cupertino, CA 95014 Center for American Progress John Podesta, President and Chief Exec. Officer 805 15th St. NW, Suite 400 Washington, DC 20005

Center for Democracy and Technology Ari Schwartz, Associate Director 1634 Eye Street NW, Suite 1100 Washington, DC 20006

Center for National Security Studies Kate Martin, Director 1120 19th Street, NW, Suite 800 Washington, DC 20036

Children's Environmental Health Network Carol Stroebel, Health Policy Specialist 110 Maryland Avenue NE, Suite 511 Washington, DC 20002

Clean Water Action/ Clean Water Fund Lynn Thorp, National Campaigns Coordinator 4455 Connecticut Ave. NW; Suite A300 Washington DC 20008-2328

Committee of Concerned Journalists Bill Kovach, Director 1850 K St., NW Suite 850 Washington, DC 20006

Cook Inlet Keeper Bob Shavelson, Executive Director P.O. Box 3269 Homer, AK 99603

DataCenter Fred Goff, President 1904 Franklin Street, Suite 900 Oakland, CA 94612

Defenders of Wildlife Kristin Duffy, Government Relations Coordinator 1130 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20030

Demos: A Network for Ideas and Action Frances Kunreuther 220 Fifth Avenue, 5th Floor New York, NY 10001

Department of Occupational Safety and Health - AFL-CIO

Peg Seminario, Director 815 16th Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20006

Electronic Privacy Information Center David L. Sobel, General Counsel 1718 Connecticut Ave., N.W. Suite 200 Washington, DC 20009

Environmental Defense Carol L. Andress, Econ. Development Specialist 1875 Connecticut Ave., NW Washington, DC 20009

Federation of American Scientists Steven Aftergood, Project Director 1717 K Street NW, Suite 209 Washington, DC 20036

First Amendment Center Kenneth A. Paulson, Executive Director 1207 18th Avenue South Nashville, TN 37212

Freedom of Information Center Charles N. Davis, Executive Director University of Missouri School of Journalism 76M Gannett Hall Columbia, MO 65211-1200

Fund for Constitutional Government Conrad Martin, Executive Director 122 Maryland Avenue NE Washington, DC 20002

Government Documents Round Table of Ohio (Ohio Godort) Peter Thayer, President Dawes Memorial Library, Marietta College Marietta, OH 45750

Government Accountability Project Tom Devine, Legal Director 1612 K Street, N.W., Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006

Greenpeace USA Rick Hind, Legislative Director 702 H Street NW, Suite 300 Washington DC 20001

Langsdale Library Steve LaBash, Interim Director University of Baltimore 1420 Maryland Avenue Baltimore, MD 21201

League of Conservation Voters Barbara Elkus, Senior Policy Advisor 1920 L Street, NW, Suite 800 Washington, DC, 20036

National Coalition for History Dr. Bruce Craig, Director 400 A Street SE Washington D.C. 20003

Natural Resources Defense Council Karen G. Wayland, Acting Legislative Director 40 West 20th Street New York, NY 10011

New York Public Interest Research Group Blair Horner, Legislative Director 107 Washington Avenue Albany, N.Y. 12210

Nuclear Information and Resource Service Michael Mariotte, Executive Director 1424 16th Street NW, #404 Washington, DC 20036

OMB Watch Gary Bass, Executive Director 1742 Connecticut Avenue NW Washington, DC 20009

Oregon Toxics Alliance Lisa Arkin, Administrative Coordinator P. O. Box 1106, Eugene, OR 97440

Pesticide Action Network North America Regional Center (PANNA) Monica Moore, Program Director 49 Powell Street, Suite 500 San Francisco, California 94102

Physicians for Social Responsibility Kyle Kinner, Legislative Director 1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 1012 Washington, DC, 20009

Project On Government Oversight Danielle Brian, Executive Director 666 11th St, NW, Suite 500 Washington, DC 20001 Public Documents Forum, Virginia Library Association Keith Weimer, Chair Boatwright Memorial Library University of Richmond, Virginia 23173

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Lucy Dalglish, Executive Director 1815 N. Fort Myer Drive, Suite 900 Arlington, VA 22209

Social Science Research Council John Tirman, Program Director 810 Seventh Avenue New York, NY 10019

Society of Professional Journalists Gordon McKerral, President Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center 3909 N. Meridian Street Indianapolis, IN 42608

Special Libraries Association Doug Newcomb, Director of Public Policy 1700 Eighteenth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009\_2514

The Working Group on Community Right-to-Know Paul Orum, Director 218 D Street SE Washington DC 20003

Virginia Coalition for Open Government Frosty Landon, executive director Box 3490 Roanoke, Virginia 24015

Wisconsin State Law Library Jane Colwin, State Law Librarian 120 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd Madison, WI 53703

Yale Law Library
S. Blair Kauffman, Law Librarian and Professor of Law
Yale Law School
127 Wall Street
P.O. Box 208215
New Haven CT 06520-8326

Alice-Jennifer Groome 65 Warren St

## Norwich CT 06306

Senator Patrick Leahy Senator John McCain cc:

Daniel Mulhollan, Director,

Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress